sleep deprivation, sports and social media

Calling all sports fans.

“Go my favorite sports team!” (Brian Regan, for those who’ve missed his hilarity.)

When you’re a sports fan living in Asia, you’re called to make some sacrifices. I’m specifically talking about sleep sacrifices.

If you want to watch your favorite sports team, many times it means waking up early or staying up late. Losing sleep for sports sounds silly to many.

This past weekend I stayed up until 2:30 a.m. to watch The Battle of The Brazos – that’s Baylor vs. Texas A&M, for non-Texans. It’s the official rivalry between these two universities that’s been intact since 1899 – that’s 112 years folks.

It’s the last year it’ll happen since Texas A&M decided to leave the Big 12 conference.

It was a heartbreaking game. Do I regret staying up?

I did initially, I mean, really, who is thrilled at watching their alma mater succumb to the Aggies? But now, looking back, I wouldn’t have changed anything.

During the World Cup last year I stayed up and woke up early to catch the games. I had mornings that started at 4 a.m. and nights that ended at 2 a.m. I cheered during the heart-wrenching penalty kicks in the USA games.

I’ve stayed up late to watch Chelsea FC games since London is a good six hours behind us.

Thank goodness for social media and free streaming Web sites.

When I watch games I tweet and post status updates on Twitter and Facebook.

It’s been fun finding camaraderie on Twitter. I am sure I annoy most people my blowing up their Twitter feeds with sports updates, but it’s almost like watching the games with others even when you’re alone in your room in your pajamas.

There’s something about knowing others are pulling their hair out waiting for Landon Donovan to take his PK.

There’s something just something about seeing tweets of jubilation when your Baylor scores.

There’s something comforting in knowing others are frustrated with the referees calls against Chelsea.

There’s something energizing in knowing you’re not the only one losing sleep to watch the game/match.

It’s the sense of community that social media has allowed. I’m not able to be at the games in person or watch with others, but I can have a shared experience via Facebook or Twitter. It’s like being in the stands, almost.

There isn’t any tailgating on Twitter/FB yet. There is yelling and cheering though.

I’ve met fans I’d never have met otherwise because of Twitter. I’ve connected with friends I can’t be with in person on Facebook and Twitter. I’ve learned stats and information about the games because of social media.

Sleep loss can be shared and tweeted.

Sports are universal. Sports have united people around the globe and it’s been made easier by media.

So, I’ll see you late at night or early in the morning on Facebook or Twitter. @thaitessa

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sam Chen says:

    You have always been marked by dedication and commitment, Tessa. One of the many things I admire about you. I still remember watching our run to the Elite Eight “with” you via conversations on our various Facebook statuses. Fun times. Now go to bed.

Leave a Reply

