Who told you

Anyone who sat near me today on the airplane probably wondered why I was giggling.

I didn’t have an opportunity to share the reason for my literal “lol.” It certainly wasn’t the instant coffee that I asked for two refills on to alleviate my caffeine headache.

My roommate loaned me Jonathan Acuff’s book, “Stuff Christians Like” for my recent trip. I laughed out loud at his stories about side hugs, hand-holding in church and group prayer. I’d definitely recommend the book, not only is it hilarious, it makes great points on Christian-isms. You should buy and read it.

I just finished reading his entry titled “Thinking You’re Naked.” Don’t worry–it’s not dirty.

In this section Acuff talks about a time when his daughter got a scratch on her forehead but refused a Band-Aid because she thought she’d look silly.

“Who told you that you were silly?” ran through Acuff’s mind afterward. He ties this anecdote to Genesis where God asks Adam and Eve who told them that they were naked.

Shame has been introduced in Acuff’s daughter’s mind as it was for Adam and Eve. It hurt Acuff as it hurts God’s heart when His children feel shame.

“Who told you that you were not enough?
Who told you that I didn’t love you?
Who told you there was something outside of me you needed?
Who told you that you were ugly?
Who told you your dream was foolish?
Who told you that you would never have a child?
Who told you that you would never be a father?
Who told you weren’t a good mother?
Who told you that without a job you aren’t worth anything?
Who told you that you’ll never know love again?
Who told you that this was all there is?
Who told you that you were naked?”

Have you thought any of these thoughts? I know I have. Why do we believe these lies and when were they introduced?

“I don’t know when you discovered shame. I don’t know when you discovered that there were people who might think you are silly or dumb or not a good writer or a husband or friend. I don’t know what lies you’ve been told by other people or maybe even by yourself,” Acuff writes.

I struggle with what I’ve italicized above. The words jumped off the page and I found myself turning around to see if Acuff was standing behind me, magically knowing that those words were written for me. (He wasn’t standing behind me, I was relieved to find, but I have a feeling he’d give me a side hug if he ever read this).

I’ve felt called to write since I was a pre-teen. I know God’s called me to be a writer. I am here now because I have a calling to write. But, there aren’t many days that I don’t struggle with my self-esteem about writing. I doubt my ability to write. I’m not sharing this to coax comments on what a good writer I am from y’all. That is not my purpose at all in writing this post.

I don’t know what insecurities you deal with. Maybe your insecurity was listed above. Maybe it wasn’t. What is your Band-Aid? I do know, that if we are all honest with ourselves, we’ve felt shame. We know what it means to doubt ourselves or what God’s called us to do. If you haven’t, praise the Lord.

“In Christ we are not worthless.
In Christ we are not hopeless.
In Christ we are not dumb or ugly or forgotten.
In Christ we are not naked,” Acuff writes.

In Christ alone, our hope is found.

We’re not naked.

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “Who told you

  1. Have you looked at his blog? It’s more of what his book is like, but I really enjoy it. I love that we can make fun of ourselves AND get sub-par side hugs :-)

Leave a Reply

