Immanuel’s Veins

Ted Dekker’s newest book, “Immanuel’s Veins” is a dark and riveting tale of redemption. Dekker paints a beautiful tale of sacrificial love that points to Christ’s love. The book is set in the 1700s, in what used to be Moldavia but is now present day Moldova and Romania. (I Wikipedia-ed it)

This is the first book of Dekker’s I’ve read. I read the 367-page novel in one evening. Though slightly melodramatic at times, “Immanuel’s Veins” kept me going.

I think many times we take sacrificial love for granted. We take for granted that blood was shed for our lives. We take for granted the high price that was paid for our lives. Dekker’s book poignantly refreshed in my mind the value of sacrificial love.

The book is a little dark and there were several scenes I was uncomfortable with. Some elements in the book might be disturbing to some. Evil is portrayed vividly in Dekker’s book. But, I think many times in the 21st century, evil is sugarcoated and we underestimate how truly horrid and awful our adversary us. Dekker’s message is a powerful one and he communicates it well.

I don’t want to share to much more, for fear of giving away the plot. Pick up a copy. It’ll make you re-think the way you view good and evil.

Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze provided me with an advance copy of this book. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathleen says:

    I have read a number of Dekker novels this summer and also felt terribly uncomfortable with the stark portrayal of evil. I came to the same conclusion as you; if we do not recognize the depth of evil, how can we appreciate the depth of redemptive sacrifice and love?

    I have also felt things can get a little “melodramatic” but then, our culture and society likes to make fun of the truly serious things. It has occurred to me that the fault is my own for being too like my culture. At any rate, the conclusion of each novel and has been well worth any discomfort, being it with evil or perceived cheesiness. By the end, I become a little embarrassed by recognizing how much more sophisticated his work is then I first realized.

    I appreciate your review and look forward to reading this Dekker novel as well.

    1. thaitessa says:

      Thank you for your thoughts!

      I agree with what you said and am glad I’m not the only one who’s felt that way.

  2. Preston Cain says:

    I’m glad so many people like you have read and reviewed this book! Immanuel’s Veins was wonderful and I can’t wait for more Ted Dekker novels to come! I posted my review of Immanuel’s Veins at fablefreak.wordpress.com check it out and contact me there!

    1. thaitessa says:

      Thank you Preston! It’s fun to meet another Dekker fan. I look forward to reading more of his books!

Leave a Reply

