Cast of Characters

It’s really nice to be reminded that people in the Bible are real people too.

I mean, I know this, but many times I put Bible characters on pedestals and am prone to miss the obvious connections they with my 21-century life.

Max Lucado’s book, “A Cast of Characters: Common People in the Hands of an Uncommon God,” helped me remember how to relate with biblical giants. They’re just like me.

The book is divided into 23 chapters with the 23rd chapter being the conclusion. In each chapter, Lucado introduces another character and makes applications to current struggles and issues Christians face.

I read a chapter or two each morning during my quiet time. While Lucado’s writing  tries a little hard to be witty and funny, he makes excellent points and has great discernment.

The Lord used the book to speak to several areas in my life. One of my biggest struggles is the fear of failure. I was reminded by Lucado’s chapter on Mephibosheth (yep, you better Google him or look him up in 1 Samuel) how treasured we are. His story shows that our worth isn’t based on who we are or what we have or haven’t accomplished.

I realized like the woman with her alabaster box, I need to lay everything at the feet of my Creator.

I could continue with spiritual insights, but I’ll leave you in suspense.

This book would be great for a small group Bible study as there are discussion questions at the end of each chapter.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “Cast of Characters

  1. Sandra Lyons

    I have several of his books and enjoy his writings. I will be looking for this one too!
    Thanks Again

Leave a Reply

