The Voice

I’ve always enjoyed reading different versions of the Bible. It gives you a fresh perspective. I think it causes different passages of Scriptures to stand out. The Bible verses I’ve read so many times have new meaning in different translations.

I am currently reading “The Voice New Testament.” It’s a retelling/translation of the New Testament published by Thomas Nelson Publishers in conjunction with Ecclesia Bible Society.

It’s created for the church today–the church in transition. It’s tailored to speak to a post-modern audience. Before each book of the Bible, the authors set the stage for the book by giving an introduction and background. Within the books, the authors have put explanatory notes that elaborate on certain portions of Scripture. The font families chosen and layout of the Bible also lend itself to a post-modern audience.

It’s great for new believers because of the explanation and commentary given. It’s great for those who’ve been Christians for awhile because of the different translation and insight into passages.

“The Voice” follows the theme of the Liberating King and his church. I love this choice–partly because I don’t think we think of Jesus being a Liberator as much as we need to.

I have enjoyed reading “The Voice.” I would not recommend it as someone’s only and primary Bible–but a great cross-reference Bible. This isn’t just because there isn’t an Old Testament, but I think it’s important to have one of the more well-established versions as your constant.

“I’m not there yet, nor have I become perfect, but I am charging on to gain anything and everything the Liberator, Jesus, has in store for me–and nothing will stand in my way because He has grabbed me and won’t let me go.” Philippians 3:12, The Voice.

I received a copy of The Voice through Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze book review blogger program. Check it out: http://www.booksneeze.com/ It’s pretty fantastic in my opinion

Leave a Reply

